John W. Campbell Memorial Award

This page lists the finalists for the John W. Campbell Memorial Award for best science fiction novel of the year, by year of publication; the Award is presented during the Campbell Conference Awards Banquet at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kansas, as the focal point of a weekend of discussions about the writing, illustration, publishing, teaching, and criticism of science fiction. We hope to release lists of finalists for as many previous Awards as possible, so check back for updates. Finalists are listed alphabetically by author's last name. When results are final, this page is updated to show the winning novel highlighted in blue.

2014 Campbell Award Finalists

Max Barry Lexicon Penguin
Stephen Baxter Proxima Gollancz
Dave Eggers The Circle Knopf
Karen Joy Fowler We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves Marian Wood / Putnam
Nicola Griffith Hild Farrar, Straus, and Giroux
Wolfgang Jeschke The Cusanus Game Tor (1st English edition)
Ann Leckie Ancillary Justice Orbit
Phillip Mann The Disestablishment of Paradise Gollancz
Paul McAuley Evening's Empires Gollancz
Linda Nagata The Red: First Light Mythic Island Press
Christopher Priest The Adjacent Gollancz
Alastair Reynolds On the Steel Breeze Gollancz
Kim Stanley Robinson Shaman Orbit
Charles Stross Neptune's Brood Ace
Marcel Theroux Winner: Strange Bodies Faber & Faber / Farrar, Straus, and Giroux

2013 Campbell Award Finalists

Iain M. Banks The Hydrogen Sonata Orbit
Terry Bisson Any Day Now Overlook
David Brin Existence Tor Books
Cory Doctorow and Charles Stross The Rapture of the Nerds Tor Books
M. John Harrison Empty Space Night Shade Books
Ken MacLeod Intrusion Orbit
China Miéville Railsea Del Rey
Hannu Rajaniemi The Fractal Prince Tor Books
Alastair Reynolds Blue Remembered Earth Ace
Adam Roberts Winner: Jack Glass: The Story of a Murderer Gollancz
Kim Stanley Robinson 2312 Orbit
John Varley Slow Apocalypse Ace
G. Willow Wilson Alif the Unseen Grove Press

2012 Campbell Award Finalists

Ernest Cline Ready Player One Crown (Random House)
Kathleen Ann Goonan This Shared Dream Tor Books
Will McIntosh Soft Apocalypse Night Shade Books
China Miéville Embassytown Ballantine Books / Del Rey
Christopher Priest Winner (tie): The Islanders Gollancz
Joan Slonczewski Winner (tie): The Highest Frontier Tor Books
Michael Swanwick Dancing with Bears Night Shade Books
Lavie Tidhar Osama PS Publishing
Daniel H. Wilson Robopocalypse Simon & Schuster
Gene Wolfe Home Fires Tor Books
Rob Ziegler Seed Night Shade Books

2011 Campbell Award Finalists

Jon Armstrong Yarn Night Shade Books
Greg Bear Hull Zero Three Orbit
William Gibson Zero History Putnam
Tom McCarthy C Knopf
Ian McDonald Winner: The Dervish House Gollancz / Pyr Books
Adam Roberts New Model Army Gollancz
Hannu Rajaniemi The Quantum Thief Gollancz / Tor Books
Gavin Smith Veteran Gollancz
Sheri S. Tepper The Waters Rising Eos
Jean-Christophe Valtat Aurorarama Melville House
E. O. Wilson Anthill W.W. Norton & Company
Connie Willis Blackout / All Clear Spectra
Charles Yu How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe Pantheon

2010 Campbell Award Finalists

Margaret Atwood The Year of the Flood Nan A. Talese
Paolo Bacigalupi Winner: The Windup Girl Night Shade Books
Iain M. Banks Transition Orbit
Cory Doctorow Makers Tor
Nancy Kress Steal Across the Sky Tor / Pyr
Paul McAuley Gardens of the Sun Gollancz
China Miéville The City & the City Del Rey
Adam Roberts Yellow Blue Tibia Gollancz
Kim Stanley Robinson Galileo's Dream Spectra
Robert J. Sawyer WWW: Wake Ace / Gollancz
Bruce Sterling The Caryatids Del Rey
Robert Charles Wilson Julian Comstock:
A Story of 22nd-Century America

2009 Campbell Award Finalists

Greg Bear City at the End of Time   Del Rey
Nick Di Chario Valley of Day-Glo Robert J. Sawyer Books
Cory Doctorow Little Brother Tor
Ian MacLeod Song of Time PS Publishing
James Morrow The Philosopher's Apprentice William Morrow
Neal Stephenson Anathem William Morrow

2008 Campbell Award Finalists

Brian Aldiss HARM Del Rey
Michael Chabon The Yiddish Policeman's Union HarperCollins
Kathleen Ann Goonan Winner: In War Times Tor
Nalo Hopkinson The New Moon's Arms Grand Central Publishing
Jay Lake Mainspring Tor
Ken MacLeod The Execution Channel Tor
Ian McDonald Brasyl Pyr
Rebecca Ore Time's Child Eos
Matt Ruff Bad Monkeys HarperCollins
Robert J. Sawyer Rollback Tor
Jose Carlos Somoza Zig Zag Rayo
Sheri S. Tepper The Margarets Eos
Jeffrey Thomas Deadstock Solaris
Robert Charles Wilson Axis Tor

2007 Campbell Award Finalists

Ben Bova Winner: Titan Tor
Nick DiChario A Small and Remarkable Life Robert J. Sawyer Books
David Louis Edelman Infoquake Pyr
M. John Harrison Nova Swing Gollancz
Jack McDevitt Odyssey Ace
James Morrow The Last Witchfinder William Morrow
Justina Robson Living Next Door to the God of Love Tor UK
Barbara Sapergia Dry Coteau Books
Karl Schroeder Sun of Suns Tor
Charles Stross Glasshouse Ace
Vernor Vinge Rainbows End Tor
Jo Walton Farthing Tor
Peter Watts Blindsight Tor

2006 Campbell Award Finalists

Stephen Baxter Transcendent Gollancz
Steve Cash The Meq Del Rey
David Gerrold Child of Earth Benbella
Paul McAuley Mind's Eye Simon & Schuster UK
Jack McDevitt Seeker Ace
Ken Macleod Learning the World Tor
Ian R. Macleod The Summer Isles Aio Publishing
David Marusek Counting Heads Tor
Robert J. Sawyer Winner: Mindscan Tor
Charles Stross Accelerando Ace
Karen Traviss The World Before Eos
Robert Charles Wilson Spin Tor

2005 Campbell Award Finalists

John Barnes, Gaudeamas
Jack Dann, The Rebel
Ken MacLeod, Newton's Wake
Louise Marley, The Child Goddess
Paul McAuley, White Devils
Winner: Richard Morgan, Market Forces
Audrey Niffenegger, The Time Traveler's Wife
Frederik Pohl, The Boy Who Would Live Forever
Robert Reed, The Well of Stars
Philip Roth, The Plot Against America
Geoff Ryman, Air
Karen Traviss, City of Pearl

2004 Campbell Award Finalists

Max Barry, Jennifer Government
Philip Baruth, The X President
Greg Bear, Darwin's Children
Mike Brotherton, Star Dragon
Michael Flynn, The Wreck of the River of Stars
Kay Kenyon, The Braided World
James Lovegrove, Untied Kingdom
Winner: Jack McDevitt, Omega
Syne Mitchell, The Changeling Plague
Linda Nagata, Memory
Robert Reed, Sister Alice
Justina Robson, Natural History
Sheri S. Tepper, The Companions
Amy Thomson, Storyteller
John Varley, Red Thunder

2003 Campbell Award Finalists

Steven Barnes, Lion's Blood
Greg Bear, Vitals
David Brin, Kiln People
Winner: Nancy Kress, Probability Space
Christopher Priest, The Separation
Robert J. Sawyer, Hominids
Brian Stableford, Dark Ararat
Michael Swanwick, Bones of the Earth
Shari Tepper, The Visitor
John C. Wright, The Golden Age

Click here to go back to the main Campbell Award page.

updated 3/9/2015

Home | A Basic SF Library | About Gunn | | Educational Program | Films and Online Videos | SF News | SF Youth Program
CSSF Awards | Campbell Conference | James Gunn Essays | SF Hall of Fame | CSSF Blog | Resources | Donate