The People of the
Center for the Study of Science Fiction

The Center for the Study of Science Fiction is a lot of things, but what it comes down to is a bunch of human beings dedicated to science fiction and the possibilities it offers. Here's an introduction to some of the people who comprise the Center.

James Gunn is a science fiction author and historian, KU professor emeritus of English, Founding Director of the Center for the Study of Science Fiction, and SFWA Grand Master. He is a past president of SFWA and is chair of the Campbell Award jury to select the best science-fiction novel of the year. Dr. Gunn is on the advisory board of the Science Fiction & Fantasy Hall of Fame.

Christopher McKitterick is an author, scholar, editor, and faculty member at the University of Kansas. He teaches creative writing, the Speculative Fiction Writers Workshop, the Intensive Institute on the Study of SF, a number of regular-semester writing and science fiction courses at KU, and directs MA and MFA theses. His short fiction, nonfiction, and essays have been published in a number of magazines, journals, and anthologies, and his debut novel, Transcendence, was published by Hadley Rille Books. After a decade of association with the Center and assistant-teaching the summer program, Chris joined the KU faculty and was named Associate Director of the Center in 2002, then was named Director in 2010.

Kij Johnson's fantasy and SF novels and short stories have won the Sturgeon Award (which she now serves as juror), World Fantasy Award (which she also serves as juror), Nebula Award (three times), IAFA Award, and Hugo Award. Kij teaches the Science Fiction & Fantasy Novel Writing Workshop, a number of regular-semester writing and fantasy-related courses at KU, directs MA and MFA theses, and is Assistant Professor of Fiction Writing in the University of Kansas English Department. Kij first served the Center as a volunteer from 1995-2002, when she began serving as Associate Director, then joined KU as Assistant Professor of creative writing in 2012.

The Board of Advisors to the Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction provides advice and advocacy on ongoing and new initiatives and programs offered and sponsored by the Center, on sources of material support, on its structure and goals, and on subjects for the Campbell Conference and other pursuits. The Board is encouraged to make suggestions on any of these aspects at any time to the Directors or other Center personnel, individually and collectively. We stay in contact through annual or bi-annual reports, and ask directly for advice on occasions. Should the need arise, the Board is responsible for appointing replacement directors.

We are currently expanding and re-defining the Center's Board of Advisors as we develop official bylaws. Our current Board:

  • David Brin, author and SF activist.
  • Pat Cadigan, author, editor, and former Center student.
  • Matthew Candelaria, author and former Center student.
  • Chair of KU's English Department.
  • Karen Hellekson, SF scholar and former Center student.
  • Elizabeth Anne Hull, author, scholar, Professor, and long-time friend of the Center and writer-in-residence of the Intensive SF Institute.
  • John Kessel, scholar, award-winning author, creative-writing Professor, and former Center student.
  • The Presidents of SFRA, SFWA, and ICFA.
  • Frederik Pohl (until his death in 2013). SF Grand Master.
  • Pamela Sargent, award-winning author and editor.
  • Thomas Seay, author and former Center student.
  • George Zebrowski, award-winning author and editor.

We also consult regularly with the Center's diverse group of Affiliated Faculty.

TBA - Forming in Fall 2014. This working committee of KU faculty and staff helps the Gunn Center navigate through KU bureaucracy to get things done.

TBA - In Spring 2014, we began organizing a group of faculty who offer courses relevant to those studying SF. It's comprised of faculty at KU... and elsewhere! Stay tuned.

We are currently looking for a new AboutSF Volunteer Coordinator! Could that person be you? Check out the job description here.

Our most-recent AboutSF student employees were Meagan Kane and Mackenzie VanBeest:

Meagan Kane - AboutSF Volunteer Coordinator

Meagan is an undergrad at the University of Kansas, hoping to get a B.A. in English. In her spare time, she gets mad about feminism and science fiction on the internet. She keeps a detailed record of the publication of every Tiptree story on her computer, and isn't even ashamed.

Mackenzie VanBeest - AboutSF Volunteer Coordinator

Mackenzie is a recent grad student at the University of Kansas, studying Children's Literature. She once wrote a sixty-five page paper on Ender's Game.

Prior AboutSF Volunteer Coordinators:

Fall 2011-fall 2012: Isaac Bell.

Fall 2010-fall 2011: Benjamin Cartwright.

Summer-fall 2010: Kristen Lillvis.

Spring 2010: Samantha Simmons.

2007-2009: Nathaniel Williams.

2005-2007: Thomas Seay.

Prior AboutSF Web Developer/Designer: Patrick Flor.

Volunteer Librarians: Bruce Sherwood, Tommy Triplett, and many friends who helped organize our lending library.

Volunteer Photographer: CJ Harries.

...and you!

Last updated 9/25/2014.

Home | A Basic SF Library | About Gunn | | Educational Program | Films and Online Videos | SF News | SF Youth Program
CSSF Awards | Campbell Conference | James Gunn Essays | SF Hall of Fame | CSSF Blog | Resources | Donate